And The Sun Rises Again

Starry flickers of white light immersed in a world where stars are often overlooked. Why would they be important to us when they are so insignificant to our lives? We have so many others things to see. I watch them, fluorescent in the night sky as the rising sun beats down, unforgiving in its nature. The light of the sun takes over my senses and gives me a sense of security. Such a nice change from the dark night that seemed to last too long. When the sun is gone, we turn to the stars to give us that same security. They are the same thing but different. Both stars, but yet our sun means the difference from life and death. Just the act of it rising lets humankind go on.

Funny how that works.

Stop and reflect because soon life will pass you by again, and we forget that the stars that were so sharp against the blue backdrop an hour ago, are still flickering down at us, hidden by the sun. They flicker as they laugh at our carelessness. I watch the sunrise show me a new day. Fresh and full of new opportunities for success. The sky turns a rainbow of pastel colours and I watch as the sun with ultimate power and control turns the sky into a day full of promise yet unfulfilled.

We realize that the sun is so important, but we never really think about how we humans depend on it. We expect it to rise each day, but what will happen if it doesn’t?

Friendless darkness. The earth has stopped rotating. What has once been a sunrise every 24 hours, is now darkness every hour of each day. The cold of space isn’t appealing, but it might be the better alternative than the hot of the sun on the other side of the earth. The oceans have frozen solid. They look so beautiful with the crystal clear complexion of the water. From a distance you wouldn’t know that it was frozen. That is how fast it has happened. Everything is dark and frozen and it is kind of pretty in a way. Its crazy how you can find beauty in such awful things.

Tragical beauty

Tragic beauty happens when things that are so beautiful, that you know that something has gone very wrong. I am surrounded by it right now. Something is amiss. It is so cold that I can feel my breath freeze as I inhale. I can hear the chaos around me, but I tune it out and just watch the world come to terms with their fate. I am already there. Every breath I take it gets colder, the temperature dropping so quickly that I would rather die than endure this. I start to get very sleepy wanting nothing more than to close my eyes. I heard once that freezing to death wasn’t such a bad thing, because you will just fall to sleep and never wake up. I will never live through this anyways.

I lay on the frozen ground, the flowers that were once in full bloom are now frozen. I imagine touching one of them and watching as the flower falls off, like an icicle. It would be such a nice sound to hear it break off. Although it would be so interesting to see what happens if I do break it, I feel like it would be such an awful thing to do, break something so innocently pretty. Innocent beauty is so natural and synthetic that you just appreciate it for its purity. I do this right now as I drink in the beauty of the single daisy.

I keep thinking about heated buildings. Furnaces that blow hot air into the house making the temperature perfect. All I want is heat. It is all consuming to my mind and senses. I am craving the feel of the sun on my back, so warm and just the right temperature. All I can think about is the sun rising again with its pastel colours showing that life will continue. It’s amazing that one thing that we didn’t pay much attention to can be so vital. I stop and reflect. The day that had seemed so promising a couple of hours ago feels like centuries ago. My situation is so different now. It is depressing to think your life can be changed in a instant. As of now, mine is changed forever.

Nobody plans their future as death. The last thing I see before I drift away, are the stars laughing at my vulnerability. We like to think that we are always in charge of our future. That if we make the right choices everything will slide into place. I am starting to realize that it was naive of me to think that I had ultimate control. Nobody has ultimate control of the way their life will fall. It is a gamble of chances. The cold air invites me to stop thinking and subject to the feeling that is overtaking me. I move towards the light. I now believe that the organ drumming the sound of life can stop at any time…

Some things that we once needed, deserve to be forgotten.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “And The Sun Rises Again

  1. Dear Caprice,

    This piece had this sort of tone of understated beauty and darkness that I really enjoyed. You were able to really show how toxic being overly dependent on something can be and how change can sometimes be incredibly difficult to face. Your gif is really beautiful as well and it suits your overall blog theme perfectly!

    One thing I would suggest is to break up some of your paragraphs even more, specifically your last two paragraphs. I also think the line , “Why would they be important to us when they are so insignificant to our lives.” needed a question mark instead.

    I look forward to your future work!

    Sincerely,
    Kayla

    1. Thanks so much Kayla! It is good to see that you are enjoying my work! I will break up some of the paragraphs, and fix that line!
      Thanks again for your feedback. 🙂

Leave a Reply